hi, I have been trying to get into C++ for a while now. My background is in VB.net. I do have experience programming with C++ (and some C) through my classes, but nothing complex... the biggest thing that I seem to be having trouble comprehending is how data access is handled.

the main aspect is developing applications that are data-driven. see .net makes it easy to connect to different data sources like databases, access files, and xml files. but whenever I look in C++ books they always talk about using the STL like lists, stacks, and other structures. But is that really the way you're supposed to do it? Am I supposed to load an ENTIRE data set into memory then pull out the data that I need from there? I've seen some mention of working with records, but that seems clunky and inefficient...

so I guess what I'm asking is, what are some of the different ways that serious application developers store and access data when they are working in C++? and by serious, I don't necessarily mean like Microsoft Windows devs... rather I mean just not the simple little rinky dinky programs that are in textbooks. like maybe just someone who wants to say write a program to keep logs of notes or structured collections like bills or something like that, or maybe as complex as an email system, but without having to rely on a rdbms...

thanks in advance for your insight
-SelArom

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

It depends on the data, but simplest answer would be an SQL database.
Most/all DBs provide C/C++ APIs for access.

You guessed correctly abt STL, its a set of template classes created to make life easier for a programmer, and NOT for the purpose to providing a way storing/accessing huge amount of data persistently.