could help me:)

Now, I work in a embedded C++ project on WINCE platform. I'm

not very clear about operating system. Sometimes I'm confused with

threads and processes. Especially when i encounter with multithreads

or multiprocesses, where are my objects located, are they thread/or

process safe, etc.

Now, I'm trying to learn the architecture of this project, of course,

i can't see the codes of WINCE. What i can see are the codes of the

application on WINCE, and maybe the codes are abridged.

I have little experience about software engineering. So even if

I haved read all the codes and mostly understand each section, I

find it's not east for me to find a through line of this project. I mean

where the compilier starts to compile the project and how it goes

through the whole project and turn it to assembly codes. And I want

to know the detail process after winmain is called.

:) Maybe my question is very abstract, maybe I could copy some

codes here, but the project is large, where do i start? :)

Thank you for any answer.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Attempting to debug a WinCE program is really a huge bummer! What compiler are you using? Microsoft has made it a lot easier with VC++ 2005 Pro compier. The only way to do it with previous versions is put message boxes all over the place to display values of variables etc.

If your application uses MFC (Microsoft Foundation Class) then it becomes even more complicated. Don't get me wrong -- I love MFC and have been programming with it for several years, but it is very complex and takes about 6 months or so learning curve to learn it well.

If your program is pure win32 api functions then you should probably read the short tutorial here in order to understand how things work.

Thank you for your answer and your tutorial:)

For some reasons, we still use VC6 sp6 to compile codes and we

don't use MFC, fortunately.

Ok, I will read the tutorial first before any questions more:)