Hi All,

So I'm brand new to Visual Basic and am VERY confused.
Lets set a few constants...
Variations of Visual Basic on my PC:
1. Visual Basic run through the Sax Basic Engine Version 5.1. This runs files with a .bas extention and is run from within a specific software application.
2. Macros for MS Office 2003 seem to run though Microsoft Visual
Basic 6.3.
3. I can also create a "script" on my desktop with a .vbs extention and it seems to run. Though the syntax & commands/functions are a bit different than the stuff used through MS Office Macros. When I edit this .vbs file it just opens in Notepad so I don't know what version of software it's being run (compiled?) by. How do I find this out?
A sample of the first two lines of code from the .vbs file are below if that helps:
[
set WshShell = WScript.CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
WshShell.Run "NOTEPAD.EXE"
WScript.Sleep 100
wScript.AppMove Left:=500, Top:=-9
WshShell.AppActivate "Untitled - Notepad"
WScript.Sleep 100
For i = 1 to 10
WshShell.SendKeys "{G}"
WScript.Sleep 500
Next
]

The AppMove Left line does not work. You can see the whole program is pretty much jsut a starter to get my familiar with syntax.
Then there is the Microsoft VB Scripting Host.

So someone just give me a general clue as to what I've got here.
I guess I'm most interested in whatever is running the .vbs scripts on my desktop. I am running "kind of" a BATCH file. Though I am interested in Visual Basic because I can't get the applications that I launch with the .bat file to do some specific things. Command line stuff is not able to accomodate what I want to do.
Such as providing passwords, moving application windows on the monitor, restoring them, min/max them.

If you can answer some of that and give me a good pointer to where I can learn about whatever version of Visual Basic is running on my desk top that would be great!
TIA for any info!!

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies