Hello, I am new at this java thing... like really, 1 day new.

I have this book called Java 2: A Beginner's Guide (Second Edition).
I got stuck on the second step which tells me to..

use javac to compile Example.java.. I read old posts that were posted here through google but.. it still failed.

Here is what I did:

i changed the cd to C:\java\bin..

javac Example.exe ENTER

java Example ENTER

then an error pops out:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: Example

How do I fix this? Can anyone help me?
Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

Do you have a main method in your program? All java programs must have the following in order to compile and execute on their own:

public static void main(String[] args) 
	{

Javac Example.exe ENTER This command must have failed. Did you not get any error message? Java source code files have the extension .java not exe. Check your book's example closely.

Javac Example.exe ENTER This command must have failed. Did you not get any error message? Java source code files have the extension .java not exe. Check your book's example closely.

oops sorry, that was a typo.. it was really Example.java

oops sorry, that was a typo.. it was really Example.java

Do you have a main method in your program? All java programs must have the following in order to compile and execute on their own

I have no idea what you're talking about. :[
I am just following what the book was telling me to do.

The first step told me to make a wordpad document and name it:
Example.java
Second step:
Execute javac and compile Example.java to turn it into Example.class or something like that.