Hello everyone. Its been a while since I posted. I've gone through many threads regarding Linking issues that beginning programmers come across. Its the linking error - "error LNK2001 : unresolved external symbol." I admit I am a beginner and I also encounter the same problem. Going through all of the threads I became even more confused. I found no explicit details and the textbooks doesn't cover much of it either. Point is, I came up with a check list, my memory isn't as spiffy as it used to be so I hope that someone can confirm if I have it all correctly stated.
I use a Software Development Kit VC++6 Enterprise version ice-age.

1. I created a blank workspace and added an empty WIN32 windows application project.

2. I immediately go to Menu-Tool-Option and add all the includes, libs, and resources under the directories tab.

3. I then proceed to the coding and organized it as follows:

• Placed the Class definitions in their respective source files
  • Placed the Class constructs in their respective header files
  • Created a header containment Header file that lists all include directives and any other pre-process directives
  • Create a source file that contains the WinMain and WindowProcedure functions

In the example below it demonstrate what I do in my projects-
I created a total of five files. 3 headers and 2 sources.

Headers:

• Engine.h
  • HeaderIncludes.h
  • Main.h

Sources:

• Engine.cpp
  • Main.cpp

In Engine.h-

#include "HeaderIncludes.h"

In Main.h-

#pragma once // Just in case it gets called twice somehow
#include "HeaderIncludes.h"
#include "Engine.h"

In HeaderInclude.h-

#include <windows.h>
#include <windowsx.h>

In Main.cpp-

#include "Main.h"
#include "Engine.h'

In Engine.cpp-

#include "Engine.h"