So I used to know a bit of VB6 during the one year of college I took. I was unable to make it to class for all the database lectures (all the good stuff), though. I now have a copy of VB.net and a new registration on this forum I found by chance on google 5 minutes ago (wonderful site by the way). I work in a warehouse that stores books and Audio/Visual material. I want to make my life easier, while at the same time learn how to program with VB.net, by creating an inventory program to use at this warehouse.

I understand the creation of such a program will be heavy with database work. I do not have access to Microsoft Access, and I don't have much money to spend on a comparable program. I was wondering what the best route to take would be if I need an inexpensive/free database program to coincide with my program, as well as tutorials for a newcomer to VB.net.

I plan on consulting this forum throughout the duration of this program's production (if that's alright with you). Right now I just want to make sure I start with a good foundation. I'd appreciate any and all suggestions. Thank you!

Recommended Answers

All 23 Replies

Free database = MySQL? But access IS the easiest to use with VB.NET IMHO. Access 2007 is shit btw)

For a good book rto go from VB6 to .NET whoch covers some very basic DB stuff get "Visual Basic 2005 Step By Step" By Michael Halvorson of Microsoft Press. Highly reccomend.

I would consider using Microsoft SQL Express (A FREE Version of SQL Server)

I use it for my Home/Development databases

You will need to download
Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Express Edition (The Database)
and
SQL Server Management Studio Express (The Database Viewer)
Which are FREE from the Microsoft website

Awesome! Both of you left me very relevant and helpful responses. Thank you! I will get Halvorson's book and it's great to know MS offers free support for SQL databases. This is a great start! Will let you know when I have more questions.