I got a list of items to program in Visual C++.

I could write a linked list from scratch but I want to do something special and best. I am thinking about a hash table.

What is best, linked lists or hash tables?

I am not too experienced with the standard template library (STL) in C++. I am more experienced with Visual C++ and the Microsoft Foundation Class Library (MFC). I have heard some good things about STL. Is it ture that there is a ready-to-use linked list? Is there also a hash table?

What advantages would there be to writing one from scratch?

If I do go with MFC, what advantages are there?

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

> What is best, linked lists or hash tables?
depends on what your requirement is. a list is a sequence container, used to keep a collection of elements. hash tables are associative containers, used for keeping a collection of key-value pairs with support for lookup on key.

> Is it ture that there is a ready-to-use linked list? Is there also a hash table?
there is a list implementation std::list<>
c++0x has a hash table, c++98 does not. but there is an implementation of an associative array std::map<> which would give you the same functionality.

> What advantages would there be to writing one from scratch?
you could learn quite a lot from the effort

> If I do go with MFC, what advantages are there?
support for ui programming in windows. everything else would be a disadvantage.
MFC and the standard c++ library are not mutually exclusive. look to MFC only if an equivalent facility is not available in the standard c++ library.

OK, I am going to use the STL list. I want to have each node have two strings. Here is how far I have gotten:

#include <list> // list class-template definition

using namespace std; 

class Node
{
   CString string1;
   CString string2;
}

list<Node> MyList;

I would I put nodes into this list?

> OK, I am going to use the STL list.