Hi guys and girls.
I’m a bit of a newbie and I hope I haven’t posted in the wrong thread but I need a little help. I am trying to mess about with Greg calendar. I have been told to make a diary app and was hoping to use this as not to clog everything up with strings, that and we need to implement the deletion of past appointments and stop overlapping so I need calendar. Only problem is we haven’t learnt it yet and I'm ripping out what little help I have. If I post some code can someone at least tell me why it’s on about a return statement? I know this code runs with strings but not with this int business. The other thing is where I declare what the year month day date and so forth. If I swap these variables round can I get the date to display differently? Cheers peeps the code is below.

import java.text.DateFormat;
import java.util.Calendar;
import java.util.GregorianCalendar;
import java.util.TimeZone;
public class Time
{
private int year;
private int month;
private int day;
private int hour;
private int minute;

//Constructor creates a Time initialised to parameters

public GregorianCalendar Calender(int y, int m, int d, int h, int mi)
{
year=y;
month=m;
day=d;
hour=h;
minute=mi;
}

public int getMonth() {
return month;
}
}

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

The overall aim of this is to use a readkeybored method to take each variable and make a date for an appointment but I think thats just gonna blow me away. I have done all this and the application with strings but i really want to be a show pony and try somthing that makes sense.

Hi Ezzaral.
I have looked through it but it just seems to me that its all setting timezone and locale. Like i said I promis your not doing my homework as iv finished my assignment with strings but i just want it to be functional aswell as just finished.
Ignor the getmonth method. Still it wont comply. This is how i declared the variables for my strings but it wont work for the calendar.