Hello people! :) I'm quite new in the programming world. I'm really interested in programming from the time I found that there's coming a game called Hytale, and I would love to be able to make mods for it. So basically I have a book that should introduce me to c++, and I'm currently learning from it. But I've heard that c++ is just kinda old, and it would be better to start from Python, since it's new and more beginner friendly. For now, I want to learn c++ anyways, then try to master Java as well. My last choices would be Python and Javascript. What do you think people? I'm asking becouse I just feel kinda lost lately. I just want to stick to one programming language and master it, for next 1/2 years at least.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

My view is that you need to develop a stack. You'll learn to deal with more than one language or you won't be able to move from language to language over time.

My stack is from Microcode to a few high level languages.

I disagree with rproffitt. I think it makes sense to start with one language, focus on it, and learn it.

In the future you will eventually learn how to work with multiple technologies together. However, when first learning programming, picking one language and becoming proficient at it makes sense. Otherwise you’ll end up a jack of all trades and master is none.

Also, I think C++ is a fine introductory language. Python does introduce some more modern concepts that might translate better to other languages, but C++ makes sense to understand the fundamentals of programming and algorithm design.