Hello all.
i'm real new to any scripting so please be gentle.

I'd like to write a script based on the AddFileNamePlusDate.js for photoshop.

For anyone who doesn't know this script gets the file name and adds a text layer of a photoshop document and places the file name text into a text object on the new layer followed by the date.

What i'd like to achieve is to include one of the parent directories of the file in the text that is passed into the text item - but as i am new to java i don't know how to go about doing this.

Hope that makes sense.

any help is much appreciated.

mike

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Hi there gpsmike and welcome to Daniweb,

Your question sounds like a javascript question as opposed to pure Java and there is another forum for JS under Web Development. Try posting there and maybe someone with more knowledge of JS might be able to help you.

Good luck :)
darkagn

Thank you darkagn.
I'll go and ask over there.
I didn't originally go there as it's not for web development as such but i guess the principles will be the same.

mike

Hi there!

With JavaScript, it's possible to do many things. Including some path wouldn't be complex, but... only if we see the code! Please post some code and we'll see what we can do.

Thanks for your interest in helping me sort this out.

I've had a go at sorting this out further over the last few days but am still stuck.

Here's the code as it stands:

// this script is a further variation of the script addTimeStamp.js that is installed with PH7

if ( documents.length > 0 )
{
	var originalRulerUnits = preferences.rulerUnits;
	preferences.rulerUnits = Units.PIXELS;

try
	{
		var docRef = activeDocument;

// Now create a text layer at the front
		var myLayerRef = docRef.artLayers.add();
		myLayerRef.kind = LayerKind.TEXT;
		myLayerRef.name = "path_layer";

var myTextRef = myLayerRef.textItem;
		var TextBefore = "© 2008 ";

// defining which folder
		// Fill in specific folder name between the quotes