Can someone point me in the right direction, what I am trying to do is use the result set that I have from a php query to a mysql table. I would like to be able to individually select a record from a query result that returns multiple records. I have the code and queries done already, I just don't know how to select a record using a unique id from the listed results. Is there a way to make each row that is returned linkable, so that if it is clicked it can return the individual record? I am new at php, so please be easy on me... Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

This may not be the right answer, but I would think that you could make form in a for each statement and have the button text populated by the unique id also create the query . I'm thinking like

$link=mysql_connect(host, username, pass);
mysql_select_db('my_database');
$query='SELECT `uniqueid` FROM `table`';
$result = mysql_query($query);
echo "<table>\n";
while ($line = mysql_fetch_array($result)) {
    echo "\t<tr>\n";
    foreach ($line as $value) {
        echo "\t\t<form action="mysqluser2.php" method="post">
 <input name="user" type="hidden" id="user" value="<? echo 'SELECT `uniqueid`FROM `table` WHERE 'uniqueid' = `'.$value.'`'; ?>">
<input type="submit" value=".$value."/></p>
</form>
\n";
    }
    echo "\t</tr>\n";
}
echo "</table>\n";
mysql_free_result($result);
mysql_close($link);
?>

adn then mysqluser2.php would be

if(empty($_POST['user']){
echo"error";}
else{
$link=mysql_connect(host, username, pass);
mysql_select_db('my_database');
$result = mysql_query($_POST['user']);
echo "<table>\n";
while ($line = mysql_fetch_array($result)) {
    echo "\t<tr>\n";
    foreach ($line as $value) {
        echo "\t\t<td>$value</td>";\n";
    }
    echo "\t</tr>\n";
}
echo "</table>\n";
mysql_free_result($result);
mysql_close($link);