Hi everyone, I am so new to javascript and it is really giving me a micrain. It looks easy but tend to be hard. Atleast for me since I am a beginner.

I need help please. I need to make work with the element getElementById
I have tried numerous way for days and nothing is working. All I am trying to do is when onchange the user go on the option credit card, the credit card information box shows. This is what I have in the script tag. Can some please tell me what am I doing wrong and what should I have done?

function CheckForCreditCard()
if document.getElementById("divCreditCardInfo").options3].selected == true)
{ 
CreditCardInfo.style.visibility = "visible";
}

below is in the body

<select name="selPayment" onchange="CheckForCreditCard();">
    <option value="Cash">Cash</option>
    <option value="Check">Check</option>
    <option value="Credit Card" selected="selected">Credit Card</option>
</select>

<div id="CreditCardInfo"> <br />
    Card Number:
  <input name="selCreditCardInfo" size="20" type="text" />
    &nbsp;&nbsp;  	Month:
  <input type="text" name="txtMonth" size="4" />
    &nbsp;&nbsp;Year:
  <input name="txtYear" size="4" type="text" />
</div>

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

The function should be like this :

if document.getElementById("divCreditCardInfo").options3.selected == true)
{ 
var CreditCardInfo = document.getElementById("CreditCardInfo");
}

You should first get a refrence for any document element before setting any properties. I.E done by:

{ 
}

You should first get a refrence for any document element before setting any properties. I.E done by:

Okay I understand why you added the variable line CreditCardInfo. You have it so the variable I have in the heading of my javascript is called onto and identify with the function of the credit card info to show if it is set to visible.