hellow everybody,

i have created a image gallery, i am displaying a button name "Collect" with every image, when ever a registered user clicks on this button, the image id will be stored in the database table, but it must be behind the scene, i mean without refreshing the whole page.

please can anybody help how it can be done in simple way, i will be very much thankfull.

regards.......

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

This can be done using ajax.
I am not really good at Ajax, but, I think, this is what you are trying to achieve. I modified the script from http://w3schools.com/php/php_ajax_suggest.asp to meet your requirement!
This is index.php

<html>
<head>
<script src="clienthint.js"></script> 
</head>
<body>
<form name="form1"> 
<input type="button" name="button" value="button" onclick="callAjax(1);" /><br />
<input type="button" name="button" value="button" onclick="callAjax(2);" /><br />
<input type="button" name="button" value="button" onclick="callAjax(3);" /><br />
<input type="button" name="button" value="button" onclick="callAjax(4);" /><br />
<input type="button" name="button" value="button" onclick="callAjax(5);" /><br />
<input type="button" name="button" value="button" onclick="callAjax(6);" /><br />
<input type="button" name="button" value="button" onclick="callAjax(7);" /><br />
<input type="button" name="button" value="button" onclick="callAjax(8);" /><br />
<input type="button" name="button" value="button" onclick="callAjax(9);" /><br />
<input type="button" name="button" value="button" onclick="callAjax(10);" /><br />
</form>
<p><span id="txtHint"></span></p> 
</body>
</html>
//callAjax is an ajax function. You pass the id of the image as parameter.

This is clienthint.js

var xmlHttp

function callAjax(id) {

if (id.length==0) { 
  	document.getElementById("txtHint").innerHTML=""
  	return
  } 
	xmlHttp=GetXmlHttpObject()
	if (xmlHttp==null) {
  	alert ("Browser does not support HTTP Request")
  	return
  } 
	var url="gethint.php"