Hello
I need to know the steps to follow to have customers register their name and address from a registration page and as they click a submit button, the information is automaticalle appends to another page or the same page in a different area.

I have registered domains with hosting packages in case I need one for that. Any script language is ok and as a Network technician, I'm ready to learn

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

Member Avatar for langsor

Okay, just to get started, the fun part is when you submit the page the page is reloaded with the form target's <form action="server_script.php">, in this case server_scrpt.php, results or output.

If you need to use the values submitted, then pass them back from the server_script after processing the form results -- you can do this many ways with PHP.

If you need the values independent of the server_script for any-all pages on your site, then maybe you will want to use JavaScript to delay form submission and write the values to a cookie, then finish the form submission.

<html>
<head>
<script type="text/javascript">
window.onload = function () {
  var form = doccument.getElementById('my_form');
  form.onsubmit = function () {
    // grab the form input values here
    // write the form values to a cookie
    this.submit(); // submit the form
  };
};
</script>
</head>
<body>
  <form id="my_form">
    <input ... />
    <input type="submit" />
  </form>
</body>
</html>

Think about your situation and let me know if you need more-specific help here.

Thanks to Langsor

I have looked at the script but still does not know how to get it in the documents.

here is a very close exemple of what I need to accomplish

go to: http://www.gammasoft.ca/Events/Party.html

I wanted the people to put their name, phone number and details in the first textbox, now when they click submit, their information is now appends in the second text box.