My problem is that I have a PHP application that needs to (in Windowsese) multi-task. I am relatively new to PHP and equally new to Linux. I need to know how to pass information from a parent process to a child process and vice versa. If somebody could please provide an example, it would be very much appreciated.

Hoppy

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

My problem is that I have a PHP application that needs to (in Windowsese) multi-task. I am relatively new to PHP and equally new to Linux. I need to know how to pass information from a parent process to a child process and vice versa. If somebody could please provide an example, it would be very much appreciated.

Hoppy

Do you have some code you're currently working with? Could you post this if possible?

Of course not. If I knew how to pass info from one process to another, I would not have asked the question!

Of course not. If I knew how to pass info from one process to another, I would not have asked the question!

The reason to post code was to clarify your question. It was incredibly vague. In what context are you passing information between processes?

My question is not the least bit vague. It is perfectly clear. Let's say, for example, that I had a parent process whose job it was to read a file containing URLs. And that each child process was supposed to read the contents of a given URL and save it to a disc file.
In this case, I would want the parent to create a child for each URL and pass the URL to the child which would in turn read its contents and store it in a file on disc. Perhaps, the child would return to the parent, the name of the file in which the contents of the URL are saved.

What I am looking for is the PHP mechanism by which the URL can be passed to the child and the name of the file in which the contents of the URL is stored can be returned to the parent.

Something like SendData($parentid, $childid, &dataaddress, datalen);

Is that any clearer?

Hoppy