I'm fairly new at PHP but up to this point I've been able to fix problems I've come across. My problem is I get this warning at the bottom of my members page after logging in. If you refresh that page it disappears. Here's the warning:

Warning: Unknown: Your script possibly relies on a session side-effect which existed until PHP 4.2.3. Please be advised that the session extension does not consider global variables as a source of data, unless register_globals is enabled. You can disable this functionality and this warning by setting session.bug_compat_42 or session.bug_compat_warn to off, respectively. in Unknown on line 0

I have just finished moving this from a different server however they both say in the cpanel that they use the same version of PHP. I didn't have this problem on the last server. I have no idea what this warning stems from.

I also had another error that didn't happen on the last server but did on this one. It was Warning: mysql_fetch_array(): but I fixed that.

I guess my questions are how do I get rid of that top warning and why would this work on one server and not the next? Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks,
moonie9

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

this is an easy but hard fix.
If you are using the session_register("name"); You need to upgrade it to the $_SESSION = "1";. that is if you built the site yourself. if this is a packaged software you might have to see if they have an updated version. if you get stuck let me know, i just figured how to change my site

this is an easy but hard fix.
If you are using the session_register("name"); You need to upgrade it to the $_SESSION = "1";. that is if you built the site yourself. if this is a packaged software you might have to see if they have an updated version. if you get stuck let me know, i just figured how to change my site