I'm working on a page that needs to do some calculations based on values that the user inputs via sliders. I can get the values selected to display in a text box below the slider, but I also need to store the value as a variable for use in calculations. Any ideas on how I can do this? I'm very new to javascript so thank you for your patience. If you need any other details/source files please let me know.

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.1//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml11/DTD/xhtml11.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8" />
<title>Slider Calculator</title>
<link rel="stylesheet" href="../_common/css/main.css" type="text/css" media="all">
<link href="slider.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<script type="text/javascript" src="../_common/js/mootools.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="slider.js"></script>
</head>

<body>

<div id="container">
<h2>User-Inputs</h2>
</div>
<!--Slider-->
	<div id="container">	

<h3>Please select a number below:</h3>
		<div><b>20&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;23&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;26&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;29</b> 
		  <div id="slideContainer2"><div id="slideHandle2"></div></div>
		  <div id="pos2"></div>

<script type="text/javascript">

window.addEvent('domready', function(){

var slider2 = new Slider('slideContainer2', 'slideHandle2', {
			snap: false,