I am very new to this so I apologize if I get confusing with my post.

I have a database that I access through CPanel then through phpMyAdmin. I am running a query to find out when the last login was made by users and I am getting values such as '1233345786' returned.

I need to be able to convert this integer value to a date value of 'MM/dd/yyyy'. When I try

SELECT date_format(`user_lastvisit`, '%d %m %Y')

the field is returning NULL as the value. When I try Convert_Date the query returns an error saying my table does not contain this function.

And just to clarify further, I can see the correct dates when viewed via my PHP plugin but when I run it via SQL from the database backend that is when I am getting my error. I need to be able to see this from the backend as well because I believe my PHP code for the plugin that I created is flawed.

Can anyone help? I am running out of options.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Member Avatar for diafol

Why not get the 'user_lastvisit' data and place it in a variable, e.g. $last and then do this: $last_visit = date($last,'d m Y') Is that too much of a mess?

Why not get the 'user_lastvisit' data and place it in a variable, e.g. $last and then do this: $last_visit = date($last,'d m Y') Is that too much of a mess?

I could do that if I was trying to get the PHP page to display the date. I already have that working with a Convert_Date function. I am trying to run a SQL Query inside the database itself via myPHPAdmin and get the Integer value converted to date.

Hi.

This integer date thing is a Unix timestamp, I assume?
If so, check out FROM_UNIXTIME

If not, how exactly is it formatted?

P.S.
You should ALWAYS store dates and times in the standard date/time format (YYYY-MM-DD HH:SS), and store them in date type fields, to avoid problems just like this one.

Hi.

This integer date thing is a Unix timestamp, I assume?
If so, check out FROM_UNIXTIME

If not, how exactly is it formatted?

P.S.