Hey guys...I've run into a little issue (noob here).

I’ve setup a little application for scheduling days + times in different rooms.

I’m trying to implement some sort of an error check which determines is someone has already been scheduled for a certain day, time(range), and certain room. For example:

USER A is scheduled for the following:
Room: happyroom
Day: 2010/01/01
Time From: 10:00am
Time To: 1:00pm

Now USER B should be RESTRICTED from scheduling the following, because there is an overlap in the TIME RANGE, on that day, for that room.
Time From: 11:00am
Time To: 1:30pm

I thought this might work:

$query = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM schedata WHERE timeFrom BETWEEN '$timeFrom' AND '$timeTo' AND schedate='$schedate AND room='$room'") or die(mysql_error());

if(mysql_num_rows($query)) { // If the query returned any rows
        echo "<script>alert('The room has already been reserved for \"$schedate\" from \"$timeFrom\" to \"$timeTo\". Click OK to try another day/time'); location = 'book.php?userid=$userid';</script>"; 
        die; 
    }else {

$query = "INSERT INTO schedata (ID, userid, schedate, comment, room, today, timeFrom, timeTo) VALUES ('','$userid', '$schedate', '$comment', '$room', '$today', '$timeFrom', '$timeTo')";

mysql_query ($query) or die ('error updating database');
    }

But it doesn’t seem to work correctly.

Any suggestions on this?

All the data is being inputed in a form. Users select the TIME FROM and TIME TO from two separate drop downs.

Thanks

Contributors
Replies
Views
7 Years
Discussion Span
Last Post by stangn99

Hey guys...I've run into a little issue (noob here).

I’ve setup a little application for scheduling days + times in different rooms.

I’m trying to implement some sort of an error check which determines is someone has already been scheduled for a certain day, time(range), and certain room. For example:

USER A is scheduled for the following:
Time From: 10:00am
Time To: 1:00pm