I am new to PHP, but 30 years ago I was a Cobol programmer, so I can usually get the concepts then figure out the syntax to use. But this is a concept that is evading me.

I am writing an exercise to help brain injury victims rebuild their ability to concentrate and their memory.

They will be shown X number of images for X number of seconds, then be sent to an answer page to submit their answers on what image was in each position of the exercise.

I am stumped as to how to countdown the seconds available for the test and then automatically send them to the next page.

If someone could give me an idea on what to do, I will figure out how to do it. I would prefer to have to research the syntax simply because I learn better that way instead of someone just telling me exactly what to do.

I appreciate your help on this. I am drawing a complete blank on which way to proceed.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

I would suggest using a piece of javascript like the following.

<script>
setTimeout('window.href="http://www.example.com/anotherpage.php";',5000);
</script>

The above redirects the user in 5 seconds and is echo'ed in the <head></head> section as javascript.

if you wish to display a countdown, you will need javascript which will force the redirect for you

I would suggest using a piece of javascript like the following.

<script>
setTimeout('window.href="http://www.example.com/anotherpage.php";',5000);
</script>

The above redirects the user in 5 seconds and is echo'ed in the <head></head> section as javascript.

I know absolutely nothing about javascript, but I can learn if I need to. But will it allow me to send the variables to another PHP program? The answers they have given need to go over to the scoring page/program.

I know absolutely nothing about javascript, but I can learn if I need to. But will it allow me to send the variables to another PHP program? The answers they have given need to go over to the scoring page/program.