Hello! I am reasonably new to all this web development malarkey and am completely self-taught, so there is loads I still have to learn. A friend has asked me to help him with a site he's making but I'm stuck and I really hope you can help!

I want to create a database driven, multiple field search box to search for a specific service. If, for example, it were a dog walking website (it's not) and we have on file all the dog walkers in the country, users would be able to search:

Preferred time of day:

...and so on. Some would be multiple choice, drop down menus, but the location would be an open field.

The idea is that all the dog walkers would send their details and they'd be on a database which the search would access and display the results in a list, which can be re-ordered according to each field, such as distance or years' experience. Then if you clicked on a result, it would bring up a page with all the details we have for that dog-walking service, including links to websites and so on.

Also, it would be preferable have a "top picks" bit at the top of the list, for about three sponsored links that would garner cash from the affluent dog-walking fraternity. We all know how much money they have...

Anyway, I don't even know where to start with this, I am really hoping someone can help!

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

First of all you need to learn a bit more php take online tutorial and try and understand different example. When you know a bit more php break the project in steps for example.

Find a good HTML/php editor i suggest adobe Dreamwaver.

1) Design - Design the fields you need and with dreamwaver you can drag and drop fields and buttons and rename then accordingly.

2) Name fields - Naming the fields is important , make sure you give the fields like text boxes, buttons and drop down menus the correct names, this will make things so much easier when it comes to the coding.