Hello all,

I need to develop a simple web application in java that will take MS excel files as input and generate output in excel format as well. Since I am not very experienced in java I am not sure what framework should I be using. Do I need to use JSP or can I develop a user interface using JSwing and use servlets to make it available on web? Will appreciate any help.

Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

You need JSP to get file from user and forward it to user. To download it you should use Commons FileUpload or similar. Once you have file in servlet you want to use Apache POI to manipulate Excel

Thanks for your response! Can I use simple HTML to send user form input to servlet? For manipulating excel which api is better, JExcel or Apache POI?

You need JSP to get file from user and forward it to user. To download it you should use Commons FileUpload or similar. Once you have file in servlet you want to use Apache POI to manipulate Excel

Yes for upload you need form.
As for which is better JExcel or POI, I cannot say as I used only POI which was very easy and painless.

Hi,

I've been testing my application on my local Tomcat server and it works perfectly fine. Now I need to run it on a shared server. I have access to a common development server (\\xyzserver) that has Tomcat installed on it. I uploaded my applicaiton under Tomcat->webapps folder. Do I need to know server ip-address to run my app
(e.g. http://xyzserver_ip/tomcat/.../myapp/index.html)? I tried running it by going into the directory \\xyzserver\tomcat\...\index.html. The html page opened fine but servlet code does not seem to respond.

Thanks.

Yes for upload you need form.
As for which is better JExcel or POI, I cannot say as I used only POI which was very easy and painless.

Got this issue resolved .. Thanks.

Hi,