I am very new to JavaScript. In our class we were assigned a project to create a Web page with 5 text boxes, each with a value attribute of zero. When the user changes the values, it is supposed to call a caclAvg() function. How do I pass 5 values to the calcAvg() function? It specifically states in our book to create an onChange event handler for each textbox. Wouldn't it be easier to somehow create a variable onChange, then after all 5 textboxes have changed, pass the 5 variables along to the function? I know the following code is a mess, I've tried so many ways now. I'm sure this is an easy, routine procedure for most of you. Thanks for any help or suggestions you may have.

function calcAvg(value1) {
	var functionValue = value1;
}

<form action="" method="post" name"values">
    <input type="text" name="value1" value="0" onchange="calcAvg(this.value)" />
    <input type="text" name="value2" value="0" onchange="calcAvg(this.value);" />
    <input type="text" value="0" />
</form>

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Member Avatar for P0lT10n

This works, but is a little extrange for you maybe...

<body>
    <script type="text/javascript">
    function calcAvg(value1, value2, value3, value4, value5) {
        var functionValue1 = value1;
        var functionValue2 = value2;
        var functionValue3 = value3;
        var functionValue4 = value4;
        var functionValue5 = value5;
        document.values.value11.value = functionValue1;
        document.values.value22.value = functionValue2;
        document.values.value33.value = functionValue3;
        document.values.value44.value = functionValue4;
        document.values.value55.value = functionValue5;
    }
    </script>
    <form action="" method="post" name="values">
    <input type="text" name="value1" value="0" onChange="calcAvg(this.value, document.values.value2.value, document.values.value3.value, document.values.value4.value, document.values.value5.value)"/>