Hi,

I'm new to Daniweb, and I was just wondering, let's say I entered: 2 + 2 in a textbox, and using php and a function I want to solve that equation. But whenever I try to return it It returns "2 + 2". Can anyone help me with this?

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Hi timpogue,

I'd recommend you use JavaScript to return the value dynamically. PHP, by itself, is not capable of doing so (that I know of). It would have to be used in conjointly with AJAX or something of that sort.

Also, do you mean you enter "2 + 2" or do you enter "2", click the add button, and enter "2" again?

I'd enter 2 + 2 in one textbox, How would I do that using javascript?

And all I want it to do is calculate the equation.

OK.

Split the string using the split() method. [Source]

Create a variable for the numbers and make sure to use parseInt(string) to convert the variables into actual numbers.

Alright, is there a way to do this in php?

Again, I'm not 100% sure as my PHP knowledge is still a work in progress. The thing is, more than likely you'll need to "refresh" the page or go to another to get the result. Otherwise, you'll need to implement AJAX with PHP to get the result on that page without any refresh or redirect. That is what I think. Make sure to ask others about this.

Here's a quick example I've concocted. JavaScript solution...

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">

<head>
<meta content="text/html; charset=utf-8" http-equiv="Content-Type" />
<title>Untitled 1</title>
</head>

<body>
<script type="text/javascript">
function calculate()
{
	var string = document.getElementById('calculate').value;
	var numbers = new Array();
	numbers = string.split(' + ');
	var sum = 0;

for(var i = 0; i < numbers.length; i++)
	{
		alert("number " + (i+1) + " is " + numbers[i]);
		sum = sum + parseInt(numbers[i]);
	}

alert("sum is " + sum);
}
</script>