I am self taught in php only. now im starting to learn javascript as well. I have noticed so far that I can dynamically creat my pages, forms, validation etc... with js just like i can with php. (at least that seems true so far from what i am learning). My Q is: Is one better to use for this? if so, then why. It seems to me that page creation and other basics being dynamically created client side would be better than being created server side. Am I correct in this thinking?

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

I'll ask a question back: how are you going to provide a full website (menu's and content) to your user, using only javascript.

Which is better for your needs, a van or a 4 door sedan? Without more info, the only real answer is "it all depends".

You don't need to choose because you can use both. Some things can only be done in Javascript but having that within a PHP context gives you the server side with a database and so forth. I have used JQuery within PHP programs and that works quite well and allows you to have the best of both worlds.

well, I am obviously a noob..lol Its just from what i have seen of js, it can be used to write html just like php. aside from database usage.
So, traditionally, i would use php as primary.. for outputting html, querying DB, etc... ???. I was just kinda thrown for a loop when i started learning js (today), and started seeing that it had alot of the capabilities as php. I have been using php for everything so far. Now its time to expand into js I think. I have no other background or education in programming other than what i've learned in php. I appreciate all your feedback. :)

just a suggestion:
javascript is very complicated... specially when your coding native javascript... i recommend you make use of the most popular javascript library today... which is jQuery; It will make your life more easier... ^_^

Member Avatar for diafol