Hello All, First let me acknowledge I am still fairly new to webdevelopment and this site. Thanks in advance to anyone who can help me with this issue and for those willing to try.

The PROBLEM: I load into a div on index.php page via AJAX another php page. Once that page loads, I lose all the function of that page. For example, I click on the search or submit button and nothing happens.

I am trying to create a site using mostly PHP and MySQL and I have integrated some AJAX functions into the site to load new PHP pages into a DIV called "dynamic" on the index.php page without having to reload the entire page. This is working great.

However, when I use the menu with the following hyperlink <a href="javascript: addContent('sample.php', 'dynamic')"> calling the AJAX code to load the sample.php page inot the the DIV dynamic, the sample.php pages loads into the DIV but the PROBLEM is that the submit, and or search functions on the sample.php page stop working.

I believe that this has something to do with using the AJAX code because it is Asynchronous. Perhaps I need to use live or event delegation.

Since I am new to webdevelopment and trying to learn best practices if anyone knows a good way to load PHP forms into a DIV on perhaps a index.php page and then have the form controls still work, I would greatly appreciate your advice, help and if at all possible sample code to help me get past this issue I have been stuck on.

Also I have been using NuSphere PhpED for an IDE which has helped me step through PHP and MySQL code to solve problems real well. However, I would like to get a recommendation on a IDE to use with Java Script and AJAX. Part of my problem with resolving this issue is that I can't step through the code to see what is not happening..

Thanks in advance for your help!

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies