Hi all,
I am looking to pass a javascript array that is created by the user (through checking different boxes and populating the array with id numbers) to a php script which this uses the id's in the array to make url calls. I am having difficulty passing the array to the script. I've tried many different ways of passing it but I decided to just ask for help instead of wasting more of my time on something I'm just starting to learn. Here's the snippet of code where I try to pass the array:

<form name="input" action="compare.php?id=graphs" method="get">
<input type="submit" value="Compare" />
</form>

where graphs is an array of id's. I'm aware this isn't proper syntax, but I'm assuming this is possible to do. I know that php is server side code and js is client side but since I am not executing the php script until after the page has been loaded I think I can still pass in a js array, right? Any help would be appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

Ctaylo, passing your array the way you have done will only send a string value in a $_GET variable called id, accessible as $_GET. The solution to your problem will be for each of your checkboxes have their name attribute set to "graph[]", and their respective value attribute set, to the value they are to contain. Now when you select some options and click the Submit button, in your PHP page you can access your graph array through the $_POST variable.

eg. The checkboxes should be displayed in a similar fashion as below

echo "<input type='checkbox' name='graph[]' value='blue' /> Blue Color <br/>";
echo "<input type='checkbox' name='graph[]' value='green' /> Green Color <br/>";
echo "<input type='checkbox' name='graph[]' value='yellow' /> Yellow Color <br/>";
echo "<input type='submit' name='submit' value='Submit' />";

eg. The graph array should be accessed in PHP as below

$aGraph = isset($_POST['graph']) ? $_POST['graph'] : array();

foreach($aGraph as $iIndex => $sColor)
{
   echo $sColor."<br/>";
}