I am populating a table with information from a database, one of the values is a rating 1, 2, 3, or 4. I made it so that depending on the value in the database the radio button with the corresponding value is selected. But I am having problems figuring out how I can update the database when the radio button is changed to a new value. It doesn't have to be changed on click, it can be changed with a submit button after they have made all of the changes they would like to make.

I am fairly new to PHP so I appoligize in advanced if the code is a bit messy. But below is the code I used to populate the table with all of the appropriate values.

while($row2=mssql_fetch_array($SQLresult)) 
{
	//find the competency level
	$complevel = $row2[CompetencyLevel];
	if($complevel=="1") $a="checked";
	if($complevel=="2") $b="checked";
	if($complevel=="3") $c="checked";
	if($complevel=="4") $d="checked";
	//build the table
	echo "<tr class=\"\"><td>".$row2[CompetencyID]."</td><td>".$row2[CompetencyName]."</td>";
	echo "<td class=\"lft\"><input type=\"radio\" name=\"".$groupnum."\" value=\"1\"".$a."> 1";
	echo "<input type=\"radio\" name=\"".$groupnum."\" value=\"2\"".$b."> 2";
	echo "<input type=\"radio\" name=\"".$groupnum."\" value=\"3\"".$c."> 3";
	echo "<input type=\"radio\" name=\"".$groupnum."\" value=\"4\"".$d."> 4</td></tr>";
	//increment the group number
	$groupnum++;
	//clear the variables
	$a="";
	$b="";
	$c="";
	$d="";
}

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Same answer that I gave to someone yesterday. You need to create a proper form and then you need to process the results from the form. Have a look at the two links below and try to apply what they are telling you.

Learn about HTML forms

Click here to see more about how to retrieve the data from the form in your php program.