I'm a php noob and I have a feeling that there is a simple solution to my question.

I have a php mysql table search that returns a result sucessfully. What I would like to be able to do is select one of the results to be inserted into a form. Basically when filling out a form there is a hyper link next to one of the inserts that opens a new window that has a search. I would like the user to be able to select one of the results from the search and have it automatically fill in the form item. Here is the code for the search (database info omitted).

<?php
  if(isset($_POST['submit'])){
  if(isset($_GET['go'])){
  if(preg_match("/^[  a-zA-Z0-9]+/", $_POST['search'])){
  $search=$_POST['search'];

$db=mysql_connect  ("", "",  "") or die ('I cannot connect to the database  because: ' . mysql_error());

$mydb=mysql_select_db("");

$sql="SELECT CompanyID, ZipCat FROM A WHERE ZipCat LIKE '%" . $search .  "%'";

$result=mysql_query($sql);

echo "<table border='1'>  
<tr>
<th>Company ID</th>
<th>ZipCat</th>
</tr>";  

while($row=mysql_fetch_array($result)){
       echo "<tr>";
  echo "<td>" . $row['CompanyID'] . "</td>";
  echo "<td>" . $row['ZipCat'] . "</td>";
  echo "</tr>";    
  }
  }
  else{
  echo  "<p>Please enter a search query</p>";
  }
  }
  }
?>

The ZipCat is the section of the form that I would like to insert the search result (ZipCat) into. Any help would be appreciated!

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Do you mean: how can you attribute values to form elements before the form is delivered to the user?
Basically, your hyperlink should contain the ZipCat element as a get parameter to the php script which contains the form. Example:
Change echo "<td>" . $row['ZipCat'] . "</td>"; to echo "<td><a href='myscript.php?Zipcat=" . $row['ZipCat'] . "'>" . $row['ZipCat'] . "</td>"; and in myscript.php use the value of $_GET to fill a form field: echo "<input type='text' name='ZipCat' value='" . $_GET['ZipCat'] . "'/>";