Hi there,
I have developed (with some invaluable and greatly appreciated help!) a comment box using Java script (see bottom of this page http://www.antobbo.webspace.virginmedia.com/webediting/documents.htm) but I would like now to be able to receive comments via email. At the moment if you click on the comment button it opens the comment box (which is great) but if you type something and click "send" it opens outlook and try to send an email to the specified address. Upon clicking "Send" I would like the comment to be sent automatically to the email address specified.
Now, I have done some research and looked around a bit and from what I gathered I need to have a PHP script that handles the comment and a database where the comment gets kept to be then called by the script and dealt with..or something like that. Granted that I have no experience in either Java script (this is the first script I ever done) or in PHP (never done anything) I wonder if you have any other suggestion on how to achieve the above.
Is there, say, any library that I could use so that the comment input by the users gets somehow automatically handled or do I have to write the PHP script myself?

Also I read that a lot depends on the internet provider as well, in so much so that if their server do not support PHP then I have to find another way.

So, in brief is there an alternative way?
If not, and I have to do that myslef, what do I exactly need to do?
Is it really difficult to write a script in PHP that handles the comment? That done what else?
If anybody could give me a details explanation of what needs to be done that'll be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

“or do I have to write the PHP script myself” don’t be so opposite about it. PHP is a programming language, yes it is interpreted in C and yes can be used as nonsense ( but all programming languages can be used that way ) . Maybe is the time to learn a bit more of how things are moving …