I have a table made up of a number of columns, id, room_id, property_id, and date.
The property_id could be a category with different room_id being subcategory.

An additional variable is the number of dyas, eg.2 .The date is stored as a timestamp, so if two nigths are selected along with a start date two timestamps are generated.

Im trying to write a php script that will:

1. select room_id euqal to or within the timestamps.
  2. if the number of room_id's found matches the number nights, to then
  3. display the room_id in groups under the corresponding property_id

if there are no rooms that match then there is no need to display the property_id (category).

So far this is the best i could do (keep in mind im new to php!)

$query = "SELECT DISTINCT property_id FROM availability WHERE status='1' in (SELECT property_id FROM properties WHERE city='".$city."' AND supplier_type='".$property_type."') AND property_id=property_id AND date >= '".$checkin."' AND date <= '".$checkout."'";
$result = mysql_query($query) or die (mysql_error());

while ($row=mysql_fetch_assoc($result)){     
      $sql = "SELECT DISTINCT property_id FROM availability WHERE room_id='".$row['room_id']."'";
      $res = mysql_query($sql) or die (mysql_error());

while($row2 = mysql_fetch_assoc($res)){

echo "".$row2['property_id']."<br/>";

$sql3="SELECT room_id FROM availability WHERE room_id='".$row2['room_id']."'";
     $res3=mysql_query($sql3) or die (mysql_error());

if(mysql_num_rows($res3)>=$days){

$sql4="SELECT DISTINCT property_id FROM availability WHERE room_id='".$row2['room_id']."'";
     $res4=mysql_query($sql4) or die (mysql_error());

while($row4=mysql_fetch_array($res4)){

echo "".$row4['property_id']."";
        echo "<br/>";

#$sql5 = "SELECT * FROM availability WHERE room_id='".$row4['room_id']."'";
       $res5 = mysql_query($sql5) or die(mysql_error());
       $row5 = mysql_fetch_assoc($res5);

echo "".$row5['id']."";
         }
      }
   }
}