Hey guys, I'm new to JSP and I want to make an order form with a dropdown list allowing the user to pick which product he/she wants to buy. And the products would come from the database i made. How can i retrieve the data from the database and place it in the dropdown list box?

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Welcome. Head First Servlets and JSP is a great book. I suggest you buy it.

<td colspan="3"><input name="text4" id="vid" type="text"/></td>
                    <td colspan="1">
                        <select name="combo1" onchange="document.getElementById('vid').value=this.option[this.selectedIndex].text">
                            <option>Select One</option>
                   <%
                   stmt=con.prepareStatement("Select id from student order by id");
                   ResultSet rst=stmt.executeQuery();
                   while(rst.next())
                       {
                    %>
                            <option><%=rst.getString("id")%></option>
                     <%
                   }
                   }
                  catch (Exception e)
                   {
                       System.out.println("error in program:-"+e);
                   }
                   %>
                        </select></td>

hope it might work for u..

commented: Completeley wrong suggestion! Don't gibe bad advices -3
<td colspan="3"><input name="text4" id="vid" type="text"/></td>
                    <td colspan="1">
                        <select name="combo1" onchange="document.getElementById('vid').value=this.option[this.selectedIndex].text">
                            <option>Select One</option>
                   <%
                   stmt=con.prepareStatement("Select id from student order by id");
                   ResultSet rst=stmt.executeQuery();
                   while(rst.next())
                       {
                    %>
                            <option><%=rst.getString("id")%></option>
                     <%