Hi..I am a newbie in JavaScript.I have two forms (in two different webpages) all with radio buttons. A user cannot select more than one option from each form. My plan is to pass the user input from both the forms to a perl script which would then query a MySQL db for the output and display it.
Now my question is, is it possible to pass the data from first form to second using GET/POST method in Radio form? Will it be possible to pass both data from first and second form to the Perl code?
My first form page named as index.html page and the second one is named as party_names.html.
The form code I used in the first index.html page is:

<form action="party_names.html" method=post name="Candidate_name" ENCTYPE= text/plain onsubmit="return form_validation(this)">

I have a JavaScript function to validate form data so that it can check whether a radio button is selected after clicking next button to go to next html form page. Please suggest.
Many thanks in advance..

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

Usually I follow like
html1-> submit-> perl(save/fetch database) -> html2 -> submit -> perl (save/fetch)

what you want is
html1-> html2 (store html1 posted values in hidden variable using js) -> submit -> perl(save/fetch database)

In short you need to preserve html1 values in html2's form, using javascript in hidden element, so when you submit html2, it will submit values of both forms to perl script. Make sure you do not use same name of html elements in both forms.

hi Thanks for your reply. But was it a perl code ? Yes you're rite..I want to pass the selection from the user from both forms (which are in two different html pages) to pass in one Perl script to query the db.
One of my friends, told me that method=Post should be given in both forms and it'll works. But he wasn't sure.
Could you please show your method using JavaScript/HTML?
Thanks..

Why not do both stages on one page?

Initialise with only those form fields showing that are initially relevant.