Member Avatar for bikertz

I am fairly new at web developement. I created a web site for the dealership in which the dealer can list used motorcycles for sale along with a picture of the motorcycle. Currently, the client emails me the year and model information, the asking price, and a jpg picture file of the motorcycle. I then update the web page with this information. The client asked me to set up a web form which would allow him to upload this information himself and have it automatically listed on the web page. I am php beginner and would like some suggestions on how to go about creating a web page to allow the client to be able to upload the information and then use that information to update the existing web page. I used Microsoft Expressions 3 to develope the web site. I assume that I would have to use a MySQL database to store the uploaded information and link to the picture file.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Ok so you need to do something along the lines of mysql. Does the webserver have mysql databases? If you want i can write you a script that will insert the stuff into a mysql database and then ill have another script display the results.

_-EDIT-_

I'm working on a script for you right now, just hold on :)

Here you go... you need to setup a mysql database, and then within that make a table with the following names, "year" "price" "img" "model" - without the quotes ofcourse. If you want me to tell you how to echo them out, just ask :)

<?php 
$hostname = "localhost"; // usually is localhost, but if not sure, check with your hosting company
$db_user = "username"; // change to your database username
$db_password = "passwd"; // change to your database password 
$database = "databse"; // provide your database name 
$db_table = "table_name"; //name of the databases table

$db = mysql_connect($hostname, $db_user, $db_password); 
mysql_select_db($database,$db); 
?> 
<html> 
<head> 
<title>Insert Info</title> 
</head> 
<body> 

<?php