Hello all, first post here.

I'm a newbie in php code, but declaring a simple variable I thought I could do, but apparently not. I cannot figure out which rule I broke, but I keep getting an error message in line 4 of the following code for an unexpected t variable:

<?php
ob_start();
$host="localhost";
$username="";
$password="";
$db_name="member_login";
$tbl_name="members";

I wont bother you with the rest of the code. In case there it says a different line when I post this, my error is on the line for username, but for the life of me I can't figure out how I messed that up.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

You have corrected the error during posting; initially (in your code) you forgot to put semicolon after line3.

looks fine. can u comment that line and see if the error goes to the next line instead?

You have corrected the error during posting; initially (in your code) you forgot to put semicolon after line3.

that's what i thought but the codes now looks fine. puzzled me.

I copied and pasted the code, so I did not change it in posting, but I double checked anyway. What you see is what I have. Tested adding comments, no it did not change anything. On a hunch, got rid of ob_start() and the flush at the end. That got rid of the T_Variable error, but now it always says wrong username or password when checking with my sql database and also this error comes up: "Warning: mysql_num_rows() expects parameter 1 to be resource, boolean given in C:\xampp\htdocs\checklogin.php on line 26" I'm unsure what all you need to see or why getting rid of the ob(start) worked, but let me know what you need to see and i will post it. currently, I have my sql database, a main_login.php, a checklogin.php and a login_success.php

I dont get it. normally you'll get Incorrect T_VARIABLE when there is incorrect variable or there is no semi-colon on the last line.
can you post the whole line of error.