Need to find code for one way folder sync. I deliver a flash drive to users with an html front-end, leading them to the pdf file they need. I am creating a web site for the user to go to, click on a button and have them down load updated files to thier flash drive.
I am a beginner web developer with not much code experinance, but able to build a site in Dreamweaver and enter code where I am told to. Not sure how to store the updated folder on my web site. Any help is greatly apprecated. I have been researching this for a few weeks and keep hitting brick walls. Tried working with drop box and it is to involed for my users. Needs to be user friendly as possible.
Thanks,
Kajeana

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Member Avatar for diafol

The download destination will be under the control of the browser/user. You can however check for new files by creation or modify date on the server. Your problem is checking old files on the client and whether or not they need updating. For that, you'd need php on the client to access the local files to check whether they need updating. You can get easyphp and similar packages that install to a memory stick. That may be one way to do it.

http://www.easyphp.org/download.php

Anybody else?

My concern would be your statement "I am a beginner web developer with not much code experience". This isn't a beginner project. If you can download a full folder and just have them start using the new version that wouldn't be too hard. If you want to update the existing folder with the new versions from the server that have changed, then that is more complicated.