Hello. I am new to php but not to c++;

I'm trying to use a submit button to run some html divs and some gui.

here is an example of this , very basic.

$hourglass1 = strip_tags($_POST['hourglass1']); 

if($hourglass1){

echo" MY DIV CONTAINERS";
}

The problem is when i try to click anything else, it sets $hourglass1 back to false again and the div containers that were up close again. In c++ to avoid this, i would predefine variables. This way the variables would remain set. I tried to look this up for php but I do not know what to call it.

Also when If i do something like this , it will be a problem.

if($hourglass1){

$intvalue++;
}

$intvalue will only equil 1 until i click anything else. How can i make $intvalue stay at 1 until i tell it to change? thanks all

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

post whole code, and explain more what you are trying to do

<form action='myaccountbuisness.php' method='POST'>

<INPUT TYPE="image" SRC="hourglass1.jpg" ALT="Submit Form" width="40" height="40">
<input type="hidden" name="hourglass1" value="submit">

<?php
if($hourglass1){

$submitadvancedsearch1 = strip_tags($_POST['advancedsearch1']); 
$submitbasicsearch1 = strip_tags($_POST['basicsearch1']); 
$initialsearch1=true;

if($submitadvancedsearch1){

$initialsearch1=false;
	}else if($submitbasicsearch1){
$initialsearch1=true;
}

if($initialsearch1== true   ){

echo"<h1>Search</h1>

<form action= 'myaccountbuisness.php' method = 'POST' >

<table>
<tr>
<td>

Your full name
</td>
<td>

<input type='text' name='fullname' value='<?php echo $fullname?>'   style='border : 1px solid #BDBDBD ;' >
</td>
</tr>

<tr>
<td>

Choose a username
</td>
<td>

<input type='password' name='repeatpassword' style='border : 1px solid #BDBDBD ;' >
</td>
</tr>
</table>
<p>

<input type='submit' name='search1' value= 'search'>

</form>

<input type='submit' name='advancedsearch1' value= 'Switch To Advanced Search'>

</form>

";

echo"

<div id='AJXMAPJOSMXED'><!-- AJXFILE:ajxmaps3.css -->