Hi all, hope I can get some help.

I am very very new to PHP so bare with me.

I am doing a system that has information about cars.

My drop downs are populated with MySQL data (working ok)
I want to have one drop down for Make of car, then then enables another for the model.

I have been doing a ton of research and have gotten some great ideas how to link my database and select data from it, etc. A lot from this site, I am learning a lot.

I need the selected item from the first drop down to be saved in a string variable essentially, whether that is the text or label for that item, I really don't care.
For example, if they select "ford" from the drop down, I need the word "ford" saved in a variable so I can use it for my mySQL select statement.

My comments in the code should explain enough of my problem.

<?php
	require_once("connect.php");
	$sql="SELECT Name FROM `make`"; //grabs the names of car manufacturers from database
	$querymakelist = mysql_query($sql);
	$modeloptions="";
	$makeoptions=""; 
			while($row = mysql_fetch_array($querymakelist))
			{
				$id=$row[0];
				$makeoptions.="<option value=\"$id\">".$id.'</option>'; 
			}

//the below function, builds the list of models depending on the make chosen for the 2nd dropdown, it all works exept the issue
	//stated below. This function is not called until later in the html
	function buildModels() {
		$sql="SELECT modelname FROM `model` WHERE mfr=\"$modeloptions\";";
//Main issue:
		//I need to get the selected value from the first drop down's text or value field and put it into $modeloptions ! How???
		//The above line WILL properly grab models from database if I declare what $modeloptions is. 
		//ex. $modeloptions = "Ford" ... declaring it as static works fine, but I need to declare it dynamically.

$modellist=mysql_query($sql);
			while($row = mysql_fetch_array($sql))
			{
				$modelid=$row[0];
				$modeloptions.="<option value=\"$modelid\">".$modelid.'</option>';
			}
	}
?>

<html>
<head>