I'm a total noob to using mod_rewrite and I'm reading tutorials and trying to wrap my head around it but it's not quite coming together. What I need to accomplish is this:

take a bunch of urls structed this way: yoursite.com?index.php?id=#

and rewriting it so it becomes yoursite.com/whatever depending upon what the value of # is. So what I'm wondering is, is there a way to apply if statements or swtich statements using mod_rewrite or does it have similar syntax?

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Member Avatar for diafol

what I'd do:

RewriteEngine On
RewriteRule ^([^/]*)$ /?index.php?id=$1 [L]

Wouldn't that rewrite it the opposite way? Turning yoursite.com/whatever to yoursite.com/index.php?id=# (still trying to get the hang of this)

Basically what I'm trying to do is this:

yoursite.com/index.php?id=1 rewrite to yoursite.com/products

yoursite.com/index.php?id=2 rewrite to yoursite.com/aboutus

etc for all of my url's. removing the index.php?id=# part and replacing with a descriptive word.

Another thing, like I said I'm totally new to this so I might be misunderstanding something. I was under the assumption that the rewriting part is sort of virtual? Like yoursite.com/products simply shows the content for yoursite.com/index.php?id=1 without the products directory having to physically exist. But all my testing leads to 404 errors. (I might just have this whole rewrting rules thing backwards or maybe something isn't enabled on the server)

Here's my test .htaccess file:

RewriteEngine on
            RewriteRule ^test.html$ home [L]

But with this I get a 404 error that /home doesn't exist. So is my understand of how this works wrong, or something server side?

Wouldn't that rewrite it the opposite way?