Hi,

I am a beginner trying to learn PHP.
I have created two Files -one HTML page and another is a PHP file.

HTML page-Form page
PHP file- Does the Evaluation.

HTML code:

<form action="Samplepgm.php" method="post">

Your Name : <input type="text" name="name"><br><br>
E-mail : &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; <input type="text" name="email"><br><br>
Comments: <br> &nbsp; &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp;<textarea name="comments"> </textarea><br><br>
<input type="submit" value="submit"><br>
</form>

PHP code:

function checkOK($field)
{
if(eregi("\r",$field) ||eregi("\n",$field))
{
die("invalid input!");
}
}

$name=$-POST;
checkOK($name);
$email=$_POST;
checkOK($email);
$comments=$_POST;
checkOK($comments);
$to="ootyviji@yahoo.co.in";
$message="$name just filled in your comments form.They said:\n$comments\n\nTheir email address was : $email"; if(mail($to,"comments fro your site",$message,"From: $email\n")) echo "Thanks for your comments"; else echo " There was a problem sending mail. Please check that you filled in the form correctly";
}

I am running this code on Apache web server.
I found this code in one of the tutorials , i just tried and copied, but its not working..Shd i need to configure or add any code in php.ini or httpd.conf to execute ???

I have stored the php file in htdocs folder that follows the path in Program files Folder.

when i typed localhost/callmail.html ... The outcome what i see in my browser is all my PHP code.

could anyone suggest me where i went wrong???

And one more thing i would like ask is .... Instead of storing php file in Htdocs folder, Can i set the path so that i can save all the php file in a seperate folder. How would i do it???

Thanks,
viji

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

man i dont know ur answer coz i didnt start programming in php