Hi,

I'm a beginner programmer and I'm developing this web app, nothing major; the hardest part was writting to text file (not really hard...)

Anyways, my company policy doesn't allow us to install server softwares on computers. So now, I can't run the PHP code I wrote!!

I am wondering if there is anyway I can run PHP without installing or running any sort of server software.. Like I said, I'm using only the file read/write functions and the include() function. Everything else is XHTML

If there is no way the above can be done; what language can I use to read/write files without needing some sort of server?

Thanks, just point me in the right direction, I'll figure out the rest!

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

PHP can run also in command line: http://php.net/manual/en/features.commandline.php
But, if you install PHP 5.4.0 you get also a webserver, just run:

php -S localhost:8000

from the directory with the files to test and you can browse them. Said this, with every programming language you can open a socket and serve data. If there is a problem with restrictions, why not setup a firewall in the working station and block the ports?

We had this problem in uni and we used to use a program called Server2Go
Click Here

Yeah, I have a USB web server but I'm not sure if the IT guys can somehow block that... I also don't want to ask them! Because, then they'll know the one way the system is "failing"

Also, are there any security risks if you run a web server off a USB drive?? I'm on the company desktop, which is connected to the internet AND the intranet...

Why dont you just get a free host and use their web page cPanel to upload your file to there, I doubt you won't be to access it unless the company uses a whitelist as opposed to a black list....

Here, use these:
http://www.000webhost.com/

haha, access denied :(

Try and use the USB server to find out if it can be used or not