hello guys.. im new in creating websites.. my problem is how to auto update the dropdownlist then the combobox is change/click?

example:
i have 2 combobox which cbo1 contains the list of genre of songs like pop, opm, love songs etc. and cbo2 contains the list of artists/singers etc about a certain genre(cbo1).

i choose/select the love songs in cbo1..

now, i dunno how to auto update the items/list in cbo2 using php w/o refreshing the whole page everytime i change the cbo1...

How can I do it with jQuery/php?

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Based on my knowledge, there are a few ways to do so.
1. get multiple cbo2 run using php and assign a class="hidden" to each of it. then using jquery, bind the cbo1 to a change action which will made the correspoding cbo2 display. Example:
html

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
    <head>
        <script src="http://code.jquery.com/jquery.min.js"></script>
        <script>
            jQuery(document).ready(function(){
                jQuery('.cbo1').live('change',function(){
                    var id = jQuery(this).val();
                    jQuery('#'+id).show();
                    jQuery('#'+id).siblings('.cbo2').hide();
                });
            });
        </script>
    </head>
    <body>
        <select class="cbo1">
            <option value="pop">pop</option>
            <option value="opm">opm</option>
        </select>
        <select class="cbo2" id="pop" style="display:none;">
            <option>pop option 1</option>
            <option>pop option 2</option>
        </select>
        <select class="cbo2" id="opm" style="display:none;">
            <option>opm option 1</option>
            <option>opm option 2</option>
        </select>
    </body>
</html>

Another way is using ajax but I not quite pro with that.

so you mean that if i have a 10 genre of songs, then i should have 10 select tags?