Hi everybody, i have problem in my php code (it just showing nothing....means no error no results).......can anybody tell me what is wrong with this code.....i'm new to PHP........here is my code

<?php 

try
{

$config=array(
'DB_USERNAME'=>'root',
'DB_PASSWORD'=>''
);
$conn=new PDO('mysql:host=localhost;dbname=scc',$config['DB_USERNAME'],$config['DB_PASSWORD']); 
$conn->setAttribute(PDO::ATTR_ERRMODE, PDO::ERRMODE_EXCEPTION);
echo rand_id(); 
}
catch(Exception $e)
{
echo 'error: '.$e->getMessage();
}

function rand_id()
{
$id=rand(1200,9600);
$results=$conn->query("select * from student_personal_info where id='".$id."'");
if($results->rowCount()>0)
{   rand_id();  }
else
{
    return $id; }
}

?>

plz help me waiting for reply..................

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Hi,

You cannot use the random integers from 1200 to 9600 and expect a result from it. The probability on getting a match is (Xb - Xa) to the power of (xb-xa) times the number of digits combination.

Of course, script is not going to return something that it is not there. Unless, you want to manually testing it by allowing the script to run and choose a random integer and then create a new query ONLY based on the random integer choosen.

I strongly suggest to use the random integer only for the purpose of generating a unique id, instead of using it to find a match on what is already on the database. The problem is that you are pushing your database server too hard just to find one entry from multitude of probable integer combination.

This is acceptable of course ( code wise ), if you are building some kind of md5 decoder that will penetrate a high-end website, but for the purpose of student enrollment system, I believe you need to re-write your codes to something simple e.g. 10 random student id out of 100 random integer. The approximate probabilty of getting the exact sequence is about 1 for almost every 3.5 million refresh of the script.

Member Avatar for diafol