Member Avatar for sonicx2218

I have never used PHP before. I am familiar with HTML and Javascript, but never delved into PHP territory unfortunately. I'm stuck on a host that does not support PHP directly, but says if I host it on another site and embed it in the html it should work. The host I'm working with only allows html to be posted into an iframe. It's terrible, but I've got workarounds. So here am I trying to perform the action of retrieving data from a video using this tutorial and I'm lost.
http://www.packafoma.com/blog/2013/01/06/display-vimeo-play-counts-for-embedded-videos-without-slowing-down-your-site/
Doing what it says doesn't exactly work for me. I need to post this script to load javascript

<script src="https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/177805367/mediaboxAdv.js" type="text/javascript"></script>

But I have no idea what to do for php..What different thing do I have to do to get the tutorial work for my situation?

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

nothing
if the remote host supports php you can simply iframe using the php file as the src href, and it will operate as expected.
If you have to have a second host, why not move the site to the second host and kill the useless one

<html><head>bla bla</head><body>
bla bla
<iframe src="       otherhost.com/filename.php">my host is useless</iframe> 
</body></html>

(src broken on purpose, do not want to post blind links)

Client wants to be able to edit the site and has no coding knowledge. Started making demands out the butt late in the development cycle.

And the php file activates like that? Thanks btw

Member Avatar for diafol

First of all, ditch that idea of embedding. If you're serious about dev'ing PHP, get with a host that supports it. Your host may be able to upgrade your account for a few extra quid. Not sure who you're with though as most hosts offer basic php/mysql dirt cheap.