Hello. I'm trying to use SqlDataReader to return information from my database. It works fine until it comes to a datetime field. I'm getting an error saying: " Input string was not in a correct format." on the line where I'm declaring a variable to hold my field. Here is the line where the error is occuring: Dim waitDate As Date = reader.GetDateTime("WaitListDate")

Can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong?

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Try DateTime instead.. However it assumes your DB table field is set to the appropriate data type..I used the index number instead of column name only because I dont know what your column names are in the db. replace 0 with the correct index number or use column names.

Dim waitDate As DateTime = reader.GetDateTime(0)

Hello. Thanks for the reply. I have pasted all of my code below. I tried using the index number and the column name and I still got errors. I'm not new to this but I'm not a programmer so please excuse my ignorace. And yes. My the WaitListDate column in sqlserver is datetime. I'm able to pull all the basic text columns but when the datatype changes I don't know what to do.

cmd = New SqlCommand("SELECT FirstName, LastName, StatusField, TypeOfApptField, WaitListDate FROM [PatientData] WHERE TypeOfApptField = 'MCC'", conn)

Dim reader As SqlDataReader

conn.Open()
    reader = cmd.ExecuteReader()

Dim strBuilder As StringBuilder = New StringBuilder()

Dim firstName As Int32 = reader.GetOrdinal("FirstName")
    Dim lastName As Int32 = reader.GetOrdinal("LastName")
    Dim apptype As Int32 = reader.GetOrdinal("TypeOfApptField")
    Dim waitDate As Datetime = reader.GetDateTime(0)

While (reader.Read())
        strBuilder.Append( _
          reader.GetString(firstName) + " " + "     " + _
          reader.GetString(lastName) + " " + "   " + _
          reader.GetString(apptype) + " " + "   " + _
          "<br>")
    End While

output.Text = strBuilder.ToString()

reader.Close()
    conn.Close()