Hi, I am new to yii and php and i want to deleveop a database design for school exam time table and maintain the time table for school management. How can I procced the same? Please help me? :(

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

I am new to yii and php and i want to deleveop a database design for school exam time table and maintain the time table for school management. How can I procced the same?

If you are new to PHP and PHP MVC framework like yii, I don't see any reason for you to be developing any application in this type of framework environment.

Please don't take my statement personally. I am just trying to be honest and trying to save you from gargantuan headaches.

Member Avatar for diafol

Good shout veedeoo - a framework is a beast at the best of times.

The central aspect of your project is the DB design (schema) itself. Once you have a robust structure in place, you can concentrate on creating your input / output routines, which usually revolve around SELECT, INSERT, UPDATE and DELETE statements/queries.

You'll want to wrap these routines into functions if possible, to make your code more manageable if nothing else. If you're just starting with PHP, I would imagine that producing classes (OOP) is a bit of a stretch, so keeping the code as concise as possible in functions would be advantageous.

A school exam timetable DB could be very simple - or majorly complex, depending on your needs. However, most schools have paid-for software that stores this info, some of it coming directly from examing boards in a format that is easily consumed by said software. In the UK, many schools make use of "SIMS", but there are many variations out there. Make sure that your school does not already have this feature. Many school systems are modular and your admin dept may not be aware of everything that the system can do. It's worth asking. It could save you weeks of work.

If you need help with the DB design let us know.

commented: thanks +10