I wasn't sure where to put this. I put it In JS because JS is client side and that's what I'm technically looking for.

I'm looking to create a Reddit type website....I want my Video and Image files hosted on a 3rd party sever. NOT on my hosting plan.

What is that called? What can I google to get tutorials on how to do that?

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Im more or so looking for people to upload images or videos through existing URLs. If they post a picture of themselfs on lets say Imgur for example, then upload the URL to my site, the image shows up on my site but hosted on Imgur...Is that still CDN? Or something different?

Ah, well just have a place for them to add a link to the image/video in your UI. Then reference the link in their post. If the users are not uploading anything to your app, there isn't much you need to do beyond that.

Im new to CDN's and writing code in general. I can understand it when I see it at this point. Can you explain in a bit more detail what you mean exactly?

Thanks

Well, you won't need a CDN with what you have described. If someone uploads an image to imgur, it's already online and you don't need to do anything accept to link to the image. When you go to reddit and share a link, all you're doing is posting a link to said image or video. So all you would need to do is provide that field/option in your web app to add the link when the user is creating their post.

Ok great, thank you, do you know of any tutorials on that? Or the exact name i can google?

Just making sure, this isnt going to be hosted on my site in anyway, cache files..etc...and eat up my bandwith?