Hi guys i have simple problem that i can't seem to solve and has been frustrating me for some time i am a newbie when it comes to Codeigniter so be kind hahah, okay so on to my problem i have form validation on a subscription form that seems to not be working

Here is my controller function:

public function add_email()
    {
       $this->load->library('form_validation');
       $this->form_validation->set_rules('name', 'Name', 'trim|required');
       $this->form_validation->set_rules('email', 'Email Address', 'trim|required|xss_clean');
       if ($_POST AND $this->form_validation->run() == false)
       {
           redirect(base_url());
       } 
       else
       {
           $data = array(
               'name' => $this->input->post('name'),
               'email' => $this->input->post('email')
           );
           $this->Newsletter->subscribe($data);
        }
    }

And The view:

<?= validation_errors() ?>
<?php form_open('Newsletters/add_email'); ?>
<input type="text" class="form-control" autofocus="true" id="name" name="name" placeholder="Your Name">
<input type="email" class="form-control" id="email" name="email" placeholder="Email address">
<input class="btn btn-primary btn-block" type="submit" value="SIGN ME UP" id="subscribe">
<?php form_close(); ?>

So when i want to test if validation is working and i press sign up nothing happens and no validations errors show! So what am i doing wrong?

try,

public function add_email()
{
    /* set errors var as array */
   $errors = array();

$this->load->library('form_validation');

$this->form_validation->set_rules('name', 'Name', 'trim|required');
   $this->form_validation->set_rules('email', 'Email Address', 'trim|required|xss_clean');

/* check if any of the validations fails */
   if ($this->form_validation->run() == false) {
       /* take all of the validation errors as errors */
        $errors['errors'] = $this->form_validation->set_err();

/* assign the data to your view file */