I am doing a start up and am figuring out my stack. I've been using php for around 5 years now and am extremely familiar with it. However, I've recently been introduced to node.js and have seen it is on the rise. I'm not sure what to use for server side.

The purpose of my company is e-commerce. Users will have accounts and subscribe to a service. I hope to grow quickly. Would node.js be a good choice or would php be fine?

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Member Avatar for diafol

My experience with node was very mixed. I ended up scrapping the whole thing and throwing the laptop out of the window (proverbially of course). It's been touted as the next big thing or the new big thing. An interesting article:

http://www.sitepoint.com/sitepoint-smackdown-php-vs-node-js/

I don't particularly agree with every "round", but opinions are subjective after all.

IMO, either should be do-able, PHP or node. BUT - which will be best for you? Learning node will take some time, but may ultimately be worth it.

You could of course use both together!
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/9831594/apache-and-node-js-on-the-same-server

I respect any programming language , technique or environment (I am not sure how to state it in a way that node.js folks would accept it) . About node.js , there where few years in the web that node.js could make your life easier if you would like to programming something like a chat. Now days with WS (WebSockets) I can't understand why node.js is still around other than that some programmers have learned it (and I respect that , but please learn something newer also). It's strong points are not any more something that you can't do in PHP or Java in a more easy way , maybe one factor that node.js is still out-there is not only that few programmers hold in it but that the implementation of WS in PHP (or Java) is still not mature in common frameworks that spend a lot in advertising.

commented: +1 +14