Hey everyone,

So I'm new to this js visualizer thing. I tried to follow a youtube video on a tutorial for an audio visualizer (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IBHpSkGZtNM), however the support for issues that I'm having aren't very helpful.

What I'm basically trying to accomplish is for now, to play one song (..and later a playlist with categories to select the genre of playlist) from a song file with bars moving with the bpm (beats per minute) of the song, underneath the audio player.

I can get the song to play but not the bars to show or animate. I'd also like to add that when I take away the "webkit" part of the code located on lines 22 and 35 (for chrome browser), the song no longer works. Can anyone help me figure this issue out and give me some pointers on a concept like this so can learn from it?

I'm also doing this on my local XAMPP server. Thanks in advance for any help or advice!

Here's my basic code so far.

<!doctype html>
<html>
<head>
<style>
div#mp3_player{ width:500px; height:60px; background:#000; padding:5px; margin:50px auto; }
div#mp3_player > div > audio{  width:500px; background:#000; float:left;  }
div#mp3_player > canvas{ width:500px; height:30px; background:#002D3C; float:left; }
</style>
<script>
// Create a new instance of an audio object and adjust some of its properties
var audio = new Audio();
audio.src = 'songs/songTitle.mp3';
audio.controls = true;
audio.loop = true;
audio.autoplay = true;
// Establish all variables that your Analyser will use
var canvas, ctx, source, context, analyser, fbc_array, bars, bar_x, bar_width, bar_height;
// Initialize the MP3 player after the page loads all of its HTML into the window
window.addEventListener("load", initMp3Player, false);
function initMp3Player(){
    document.getElementById('audio_box').appendChild(audio);
    context = new webkitAudioContext(); // AudioContext object instance
    analyser = context.createAnalyser(); // AnalyserNode method